Sunday, December 15News That Matters


The PSL mega event has now started and it has taken Pakistanis by the storm. After the doors of International cricket closed for Pakistan since 2009, the PCB event has been a fresh air for the entire nation. The Pakistan Super League has not only revived the cricket charisma but the tournament has also brought unity among the nation. The fans have come close since ever and have staged a beautiful picture of Pakistan which depicts love and peace.

PSL 4 Ceremony

This year’s PSL will be inaugurated in UAE on 14th February’s eve and will conclude on 17th March at the National Stadium Karachi where 6 teams will compete to get their hands on the coveted trophy of PSL. The start studded opening ceremony will be held in Dubai International Stadium. The PSL lead singer of season 4 Anthem, Fawad Khan will also perform at the curtain raiser event. Junoon once again will be rocking the stage while Aima Baig and Shuja Haider will caste magic of their voices. After the ceremony, the reigning Champions Islamabad United will kick off their season locking horns with Lahore Qalandars.

PSL 4 Teams Analysis

The defending Champions are in no mood of giving away the title as they look determined to repeat last season feat once again. Winning the title twice in the last 3 years makes Islamabad United the favorites once more this time under the Captaincy of the fast bowler Mohammad Sami and vice captain Shadab Khan. 
On the other hand Lahore Qalandars have boosted their chances after getting the Legendary AB de Villiers sign the dotted line for them. With the veteran all-rounder in their side, and finding a new captain in Mohammad Hafeez, Lahore hopes to end their long run of miserable campaigns where they ended at the bottom of the table all 3 seasons.
The Winners of the Season 2 and Last year runner-up Peshawar Zalmi will once again be keen to become champions under the Leadership of Darren Sammy alongside 2 times PSL winning captain Misbah ul Haq joining them this season after leading Islamabad United for 3 wonderful seasons. The Zalmis went extremely close to the trophy last year but fell short of the Winner spot and had to settle for the Silver Medal.
The ‘South Africa’ of PSL as they say, Quetta Gladiators will once again be teaming up under Sarfaraz Ahmed to bring glory to their team after losing back to back finals of Season 1 and 2 and losing out an eliminator to Zalmis in the 3rd season. The men in purple will be without their key player Kevin Pietersen, who hanged his boots after the end of PSL Season 3. However, the addition of Sunil Narine can make a huge difference and Gladiators may achieve this season which they always failed to.   
Multan Sultans, the team who made their debut in the Pakistan Super League last season was quick to win hearts across the country with their bright squad and attacking style of play. Shoaib Malik will remain the skipper of Sultans this season with Boom Boom Afridi also joining this side makes this team hot favorites to grab the trophy.
The King of hearts, Karachi Kings will once again put on their shoes in search of a successful season this year. Salman Iqbal’s men had failed to achieve anything notable so far in the PSL despite having huge sponsors and gigantic media outreach. With Imad Wasim set to steer the Karachi King’s ship this season and final set to be played in Karachi, the Kings will be keen to see themselves on the winning podium.

PSL Schedule

The format of PSL this year has changed a bit with 8 matches to be played in Pakistan. Lahore and Karachi will host 2 league games each after which one playoff match is set to be played in Lahore. Lastly, the 2 playoffs will be held in Karachi before the grand finale to conclude the League.

PSL Announcement

After a huge turnout in the last season final in Karachi and the exciting games this year to be played in Pakistan, the spirit of Cricket is back with a bang within all Pakistani fans. To bring more joy to the fans of the Gentlemen’s game, The Federal Minister of Information Fawad Chaudhary confirmed that the next season of the tournament, the entire Pakistan Super League will be played in Pakistan with none of the games scheduled in UAE.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *